News Society, 09/09/2017

FZ FORZA Kharkiv International 2017 Gathers Badminton Fans

On September 7-10, FZ FORZA Kharkiv International 2017, a part of Badminton Europe Elite Circuit, takes place in the Lokomotiv Sports Palace. The prize money is $20,000.

This year 156 sportsmen from 25 countries take part in the tournament. Badminton players from Hong Kong and the USA came to Kharkiv for the first time.

Such famous players as Joachim Persson from Denmark, Misha Zilberman from Israel and the recent winner of Grand Prix New Zealand Open 2017 Lee Cheuk Yiu from Hong Kong are among the participants of the Badminton Europe Elite Circuit.

Leading Ukrainian athletes also take part in the tournament. Two-times champion Dmytro Zavadsky and Vladyslav Druzchenko, winner of multiple titles in Ukraine, compete in the tournament.

On September 7-8 qualification rounds and playoff matches were played. Today the quarterfinals and semifinals are played. The final starts at 9 a.m. on Sunday. The entrance is free for the badminton fans.

Apart from prize money, the winners in each of the five categories – Men’s and Women’s Singles, Men’s and Women’s Doubles and Mixed Doubles – will also receive 4,000 rating points.

“We organized the tournament almost from scratch. Many participants were afraid to go to Ukraine. Only 13 foreign participants took part in Babolat Kharkiv International in 2014, because of the war in the east of Ukraine. Today many foreigners play here. The largest team of 35 athletes is from India,” the main coach of Ukrainian national badminton team Hennadii Makhnovskyi says.

FZ FORZA Kharkiv International 2017 is the only international tournament on the International Challenger level held annually in Ukraine since 2009 under the auspices of the Badminton World Federation and belongs to a Badminton Europe Elite Circuit.

Text: Iryna Klymenko

Photos: Kharkiv City Council