News Society, 16/04/2017

Kharkivites Win Physics Contest

The team of V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University became the winners of the 9th International Physicists’ Tournament, which was held on April 9 – 13 at the Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg (Sweden).

Eighteen teams took part in this tournament. The organizers divided them into 2 subgroups. The finalists became the teams of Karazin Kharkiv National University, École Polytechnique of Paris (France) and Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden). The second place was won by the hosts of the tournament. The team of École polytechnique of Paris took the third place.

The Kharkiv team consisted of Victoria Zaitseva, Olha Zaitseva, Ihor Sykachyna (Physics department) and Bohdan Bidenko, Kyrylo Gerashchenko, Arina Ivashtenko (Physics and Technology department).

Reference: The team of Kharkiv National University took part in the International Student Tournament of Physicists three times. They took first place in 2011 in Russia, second place in 2014 in Lausanne (Switzerland) and first place in 2015 in Warsaw (Poland).

Text: Iryna Klymenko